1. U.S. Futures

Watch me learn options... with Jrich

Discussion in 'Trading Journals' started by Jrich, Aug 7, 2017.

1. Jrich

Jrich Active Member

Im a relatively new trader, 2017 being my first year... I litteraly started with $30 on Robinhood back in January just to get my feet wet

Ive been saving little by little ever since, and ive learned first hand how difficult this game can be to play with limited capital...... Then, one of my buddies here hounded me to learn about options

So i did.... And from my perspective, its a much more feasible way to trade with limited capital..... Just think of an option as a penny stock backed by a real company:D

Figured i would do this journal for two reasons:

1) anyone new like me, or anyone who doesnt have 25G just laying around can lurk and get feel for weather or not options may be right for them.. or even join in and ask questions, the only dumb question is the one you don't ask

2) maybe the more experienced option traders can jump in and save me when i screw up

There are plenty of resources out there to explain options in detail, so ill keep my reasoning for choosing options short

The name of the game is leverage!... youre buying contracts for pennies on the dollar, but they move almost step for step with the stock price..... say you buy some calls for 20 cents, if the stock price goes up a dollar, then those calls are now worth around $1.20.... but keep in mind, that leverage works both ways

Another big advantage is having the ability to play both sides... by buying put options, you can play the short side without actually short selling the stock... this means no margin requirements and no unlimited risk... the most you can lose is what you put in

And if you wanna get complicated, there are several spread strategies where you can profit when the stock does nothing.... but don't expect to see that here for a while, i follow the KISS rule (keep it simple stupid)